Skip to content
March 19, 2013 / TeknoKai

Music and Life … reflections of each other?

I am a huge music fan – I love *almost* everything, except country.  Strike that, there is *some* country music that I do like.  I’m eclectic – I love songs for their music (how it makes me feel when I’m listening) and for their their lyrics.  I am a published poet myself, so wordcrafters reach me faster than almost anyone else.  So tonight, I’m in one of my *Very Rare* Listen to music modes, so I’m gonna just jot down a few notes about what I’m listening to as it strikes me.  Please be patient – I don’t quite know where this is going yet, but I think I will enjoy the ride.  😉

First song of tonight – Carly Rae Jepsen’s “Call Me Maybe”…

Now, I don’t know if it’s the gay in me, or the guy in me, but I love this song.  It kinda speaks to me – put yourself out there.  If you don’t you never know who will pass you by.  Yes, Life is scary.  Yes, relationships are scary.  Close your eyes – take a leap of faith!

Next Song of the night – Aqua – Playmate to Jesus…

Yes, Aqua is one of my favorite bands.  I’m not ashamed of this – I proudly proclaim it!  I have loved them from the beginning – and their new album after nearly a decade apart brings a peace to my soul I  never knew I was missing.  Aqua has always been top of my list of favorite bands because the messages in their songs are heartfelt and true – but they push the envelope with their lyrics.  No other band has ever gone so close to the edge with their lyrics to only pull it back at the very precipice of losing their fans so that it makes their fans love them more.  I love bands who have the balls to take on the status quo and still get a message out to mankind – even if all of mankind still can’t hear it yet.  One person being touched by this music is another candle lit to burn away the darkness…

3rd song of the night

Melissa Etheridge’s “Angels Would Fall”…  I’ve loved Melissa since the first time I ever heard “Come to my Window”.  I knew she had a deeper understanding of me than most people I knew in real life.  I could feel that she had felt the same things I had – and I kew she was special.

Next song of the night –

another by the divine Melissa E – “I Wanna Come Over” …

Sometimes I just get tired of sitting here looking at the same four walls – I just have to escape this prison life has put me in…

5th song of the night –

a lovely melody by @darrenhayes – now, most of you know that I think of him as a “soul” mate.  Never have I felt so close to anyone through their music as this lovely man.  And this song, from his latest album, though not the most widely played, is the closest thing to my heart… it embodies me…  @darrenhayes’s “Hurt”

(For those of you who aren’t following me on Facebook or Twitter – I’m sharing the links to these songs as I listen on my Twitter Stream/Facebook feed – you’ll find me at both as @Teknokai or Teknokai…

Sixth Song of the night = Another Aqua from their “Greatest Hits” = Live Fast and Die Young…

Now, I love the truth in this song.  I still plan on living for a long time, but I agree that we should seize every moment we can, no matter what, so that our life stories are filled with the passion and creation of “Yes!  Let’s Do…” and we leave behind no regrets of anything that we were too scared to try…

it’s not about literally dying young … it’s about getting the most out of every experience so that you still feel full of wonderment like a child when you go – and  not missing a minute of what happens today…

Seventh song of the night, I’m going even further into obscurity, but Billie Myers is and always will be one of my heroes – and this beautiful song reminds me that Even when I am alone, I can dream of those I want to have near…

And another by the lovely Billie Myers – One I couldn’t dream of passing up …

After all – it is HER defining song for me!  (See, I usually find one song per artist that defines me … for Billie Myers it’s off her second album “Am I Here Yet {RETURN TO SENDER)”  Ohh, how much this encapsulates me and the way I felt for so long… Here’s Ms. Myers’ most potent question … and yes, I love this song too ..

Then there’s the timeless Wilson Phillips – This defined me from high school tlll now…

Always reminding me to never give up, and to hold on ….

I guess that’s as good a song as any to call it a night to.  Once in a while I will stop and check myself, and see if any of the current music is truly about what I feel.  I’m usually surprised by how close to my own experiences these wonderful musicians get.  I guess, deep down, we aren’t all so different after all.

~Terry

Leave a Reply

