Skip to content
January 19, 2014 / TeknoKai

There is no such thing as Failure…, There is only succeeding in not reaching the goal…(Yet)

Hello, Friends and Netizens!

First post of the new year.

Huh.

OK, well, I will take this one running, because I am determined that 2014 is NOT going to be a carbon copy of 2013.  No.  One cycle was bad enough.  We don’t need to revisit that time stream again.  2013 – the only thing I can say about it is that I”M GLAD IT”S OVER!   There, now, with that out of my system, I’m diving headlong into 2014.

As many of you know, I was up for a “dream job” at the end of 2013.  See my last post if you feel you’ve forgotten.  I can happily tell you that I did not get my “dream job”, but I did get a nice, personalized letter from the owner of the corporation about my intent.  And I sincerely thank her for that, because it made me realize that all too often, when I want to introduce myself to new people, I use the old “copy & paste” method of greeting – It’s the same memorized version of me repeated in monotone until you can’t stand it any more.  I finally realized, “Hey – I’m trying to sell myself as old goods!  This isn’t me anymore!”

That was a wake up call.  For the last couple of years, I have been constantly sending out resumes to companies, hoping for the narrowest bite of the lure in the fishing of a new job.  But I realized I was sending out the wrong “bait”.  I’m not quite sure when it hit me, but I am not the same person written into my old resumes.  I have changed.  The world has changed.  Yet, I was still trying to meet people and garner opportunities as if I were the “shell” of my old self that appears in those long worn pages of employment history.  I had fallen into the trap of “I have already written this down – here’s a copy.”  Ugh!   Shudder!  Those words should never be used together.  Ever.

I have become, in my own personal opinion, a much more vibrant and colorful person than the greyed-down drone depicted in my old resumes.  I have ripened with wisdom as I have aged, into a truly fruitful person rather than a longstanding deciduous tree.  And now, more than ever, is the time to show that to the world.  I’m not the cookie-cutter, pattern following, regimental soldier in daily life that I somehow once made myself believe I was.  I am, rather, the ingenious creator who envisions new ways to make the world more beautiful and bountiful than was thought before.  Instead of quietly descending into plain “everydayness”, I am standing out in full technicolor, finding my own pathway through life so I won’t get stuck in the traffic of mediocrity.  Yes, this is me.  It’s a new year, and I’ve found myself again.

Somehow I got lost in my 20’s and 30’s when I was “supposed” to be living a certain kind of life.  But now, I know that I have to grab life every day and mold it to what I want it to be, rather than having it mold me into just another “same-old, same-old”.  And so I have.  If you will take the time to click on the links to my resume around here, you’ll see that I have trimmed the dead wood, and spruced up the finer points of myself.  I fully intend to reach my personal goals that I am now setting – whereas for the last few years, I had no clear goal in mind.  I’m not living just to make it until tomorrow – I’m living to enjoy the wonder of today.  I guess I finally made it through my winter of youth, and now am ready to tackle the spring of adulthood head on.  And I do hope that you will join me there.

So, let’s say a “fond?” farewell to 2013 – and jump right into the dazzling brightness that starts with 2014 – and has limitless colors with which to paint every new day.

Thank you, friends!  Let’s do something good today!

Terry

Leave a Reply

