Skip to content
October 14, 2014 / TeknoKai

Gearing up for season 10…only a week of Hellatus left to go!

Hey, fellow brothers and sisters of the net! I’m sorry I haven’t been on in a while, but with the new car, new job, and basically new life (don’t worry – you aren’t lost, I promise you all the juicy details soon to come!) I just really haven’t had time to do much other than work and live!

Since we’re into the final (thank God, FINALLY!) days of 2014’s nerve-wracking Hellatus, I thought I’d dust off an earlier blog about why I’m the Prodigal Fan of the greatest show on earth. Bear with me, and give it a read, and I promise you, I’ll be back soon with more current updates! Till then, here is “Why I Am the Supernatural Prodigal Fan”, written originally about a year ago. Thankfully, it still holds true to today! Enjoy, and I’ll be talking to you again soon!

Terry

********************************

Hello, my friends!   I have something special I want to share with you today.  Some of you will understand.  Some of you may hate me for it.  Some of you may even forgive me at the end.

I have a feeling that most of the people who will read this blog are people who belong to my “Supernatural Fandom Family”.  Any fan of the show knows immediately what I mean by that statement.  If you don’t understand, you either haven’t watched Supernatural at all, or, for some reason that i cannot empathize with, aren’t a fan.  I personally have never met anyone who watched this show at least once and not became a fan of it.  I am proud to say that throughout the series’ 8 year history, I never missed an episode when it aired live on TV, the night of it’s first airing, for seven whole years.

I have never been able to say that about any other show I have ever watched, but with Supernatural, it’s just … “special”.  There really isn’t a word to define how you feel when you first wish you were riding the roads with Sam and Dean in the Impala, trying to stop some of those nasty “bumps in the night”, or to define how you feel when you  first realize you have made this wish.  I’m glad that the English language is a living and thriving language.  Maybe some day there will be a word to express this feeling.  But no other word I have learned, up till now, will quite do.  So I chose “Special”, because this series really is, and I emphasized it with the quotations to show that I mean it more fervently than I can say.  Or at the very least, type.

But hold on.  You are doing the math in your head, right?  There have been 8 seasons of Supernatural, but I said I had only watched it on original air dates for 7.  Did I make a mistake? Does 2 + 2 now = 5?  Has the universe lost it’s mind?!?!

No, I am afraid you read rightly.  Part of this missive to you, the general people of the Supernatural Fandom of Earth, many of whom I call “family”, though we’ve never ever met in person, is this one simple confession.  And I am all about confessional, because I know that we don’t have forever.  I have been a die-hard, Supernatural fan from the moment I saw the first pilot episode, until one occurrence in season seven caused me to doubt my fundamental beliefs in myself, in this story, and in this Fandom.  I am sorry to say that I lost my faith.  That is kind of the easiest way I can ever put it.  I lost my faith in Supernatural the day Bobby died.

Now, many of you fans have had troubling moments with the show – hell, we all have.  But that was one thing I just could not quite get my head around.  Why?  I’m not sure.  But it left me feeling – empty.

As much as Sam and Dean had lost their “adopted” father figure, so had I.  I know, as all good people do, that nothing lasts forever.  But some things just aren’t right.  There’s nothing you can do to fundamentally shift the facts, but you don’t have to like it.  And so, I got lost.

I can honestly tell you, dear fans, that from the moment Bobby Singer’s character left the show, mine did too.  I don’t know why, but it’s true.  From that moment on, I never watched the “first airing” of new episodes.  I’d wait until my iTunes season pass downloaded it the next day.  Now, I’m not saying I totally left the fandom.  I don’t think I could ever do that.  But I lost that one essential spark that made me, for 7 years straight unending, be at my TV on the night when Supernatural would air, with clear directives to family, friends, and co-workers, that for 1 hour of each week I could not in any way be reached. Not by landline, Instant Message, Text, or Cell.  Everything I had was turned off.   For that 1 hour of “Me” time, when it was just me and the Winchesters.

This may not seem like a big deal to you.  Many people don’t have the privilege of watching their favorite show when it airs – most people DVR it nowadays.  But for a true fan, nothing is quite like the experience of seeing the newest episode unfurl before your very eyes, allowing you to be a part of it.  Anyone who truly loves any show will agree to that.  And for me, once Bobby was gone, the spark just faded away.

I want to point out that this is in a way a good thing.  It proves the chemistry of the actors involved in this show are, and always have been, the perfect mix.  This show would never be where it is today without the key people in the key roles they occupy, even though we always have a bevy of famous guest stars.  Our core Supernatural family has always been Sam, Dean, and Bobby.  And Bobby went away.

So for the remainder of season 7 I watched “the day after” on my appleTV.  Then season 8 started, and I have to make an even worse confession to you all.  I did not watch it at all.

I think somewhere deep inside my heart was broken.  I just couldn’t bring myself to be at home when I knew the show was airing.  I always had emergencies or something I had to do, so that I wouldn’t have to see the two people i have idolized more than anyone else in this world, learn to cope with being just the 2 of them.  So this season, before it even premiered, I had purchased my season pass on appleTV, on the soonest day it went on sale. And every week, I’d get an email from apple telling me that the newest episode was available for me to watch.  And every week I ignored it.  I really can’t say why, but something in me changed this past year, and the changes on my favorite TV show were just too much.  I knew I wanted to know what was happening, but I’d always find a way to say “I’ll save that for next week.”  I got interested in anime.  I have always been interested in anime, but I began consuming it at unfathomable rates, searching out and finding each new anime  storyline and artwork that drew my attention.  I was a glutton, but I was using it to cover the emptiness left in my heart where my Supernatural had been.

So, that brings us to this weekend.  I had nothing better to do than stay at home and sit on the couch – literally there was nothing going on around me for the first time in what seems like ages.  I decided, Friday night, that I had waited long enough. Last week was the Supernatural season 8 finale.  I had seen all my fandom family talking about it for days.  I never read the tweets too closely, because I still hadn’t seen any of this season yet.

So Friday morning I did my weekly shopping, I stocked up on drinks and snack foods and everything you would need to not have to leave home for a weekend, for any reason.  And I started what I called my #SupernaturalLockdown on twitter.  all my tweeps will know they have seen this hashtag at least once this weekend.  I have watched what is a record (for the season and for me!), 23 episodes of Supernatural over the last seventy two hours.  The only breaks i took were to nap, and to eat, and pretty much that’s it.

So now, I am writing to you all from the other side of a 23 episode marathon of Supernatural, one whole season watched over a weekend.  I have never had this many episodes to watch at once, and I never thought I’d do this, except if I got really bored and decided to do a re-watch.  I honestly never thought I’d try something like this, because I never thought I’d put off watching something I had at one time cared so much for that it built into this massive wall.  I had to break through.   Fandom, I’m proud to say that I have never been as happy to do something as I did this.

I don’t know if it was because I was harboring my feelings of being let down, in a way, or because I really just wanted to push out the inevitable storyline that I hadn’t quite gotten into, but I’m glad that I waited and decided to watch this entire season in one go.  Over the past seventy two hours, I have reaffirmed my faith in the Winchesters.  I don’t really know quite what I was expecting, but this has been “literally” one helluva ride.

I have seen characters that have returned from as far back as season 1, only to meet their true final fate.  It was hard to watch many of them.  I don’t know how I would have reacted if I had kept watching weekly, and having one character at a time be killed from the show.  Maybe I can only handle what I have seen because I did start watching all at once.  I’m not sure, and there are a lot of “maybe’s”.

But one thing I do know – with all my heart – something is “back” in this special show.  I felt, as I am sure many fans have, that things have happened that seemed to stretch out or make bland the once truly “popping” story lines that occurred week after week.  I guess I just saw it fading casually from inside my relationship with the show, the actors, and the stories I’ve thought of for years.  And regretfully, I gave up.  I drifted away to a “comfortable distance” and had every intention of staying there.  Until I decided to have my own personal marathon.

Something special happened in season 8.  No, it wasn’t the appearance of Demons or Angels, because those have been popping up regularly since the show’s second season.  It wasn’t the few mythological gods or goddesses we saw this season either; our boys are not new to having to kill an annoying deity or two.  No, much of this season has been the tension that has been released between our boys, Sam and Dean.  For several seasons, everything they did seemed to wind them up tighter and tighter until it was painful to watch.  I remember thinking to myself that this was an ever growing powder keg, and I was kind of afraid of the mess it made when it exploded.   And then we lost Bobby.

That simple fact made the distance between the brothers at the start of this season dissipate – they finally realized that in the whole wide world, there will always only be the two of them.  I miss Bobby.  Badly. Maybe my actions are a reflection of my personal way of expressing my grief.

But now, having watched this season to it’s conclusion (and it has been nothing less than stellar), I find myself re-energized with a longing for the Winchesters that I didn’t realize I had lost.  It’s like a hunger has returned, and I want now, more than ever, to be the fan who’s there at there at the break of every news article, every press release, every teaser and trailer, and every whisper through the digital nation about what our boys are up to now.  I didn’t really feel like I had left my post in the Fandom, but now I realize that I very much did – because I can only have this feeling of “coming home” to something that I actually left.

So now, fellow fans, I want to proudly proclaim from the rooftops that I have been a “Born-Again” part of the Supernatural Fandom.  As awesome as this fandom is, I don’t think anyone will hold it against me.  At least I hope not.  But I feel for the first time in a long time that I’m truly excited about something that I know I was once excited about all the time, and that I had thought I was always excited about in some way or another.  It’s kind of like a thirst that can’t quite be quenched.  It’s full of fire, and passion, anger, and rage, and everything in between.  And I’ve got it back.  I’m telling you, I remember why I have always listed this show in my top favorites, why I have tried to recruit over the years as many fans as I could, and why I have always been proud to be a part of the #SupernaturalNation.  I honestly feel regret that I stopped my weekly time with the Winchesters.  And I have thoroughly enjoyed the last seventy two hours with them nonstop.  While I have always been a member of our big #SPNFamily, I’m proud to say that I’m back at the forefront of our legions, proclaiming our love for our companionship and our show across the digital world.  I’m sorry I left you, my greatest Supernatural Family, but I’m thrilled that I have come home again.  Now, I wait with baited breath for the next part of our story to start.  “Hell-aitus” actually has real meaning for me again.  Honestly, I don’t think I could be any happier than I am right now.

*******************************

Are you a member of my extended Supernatural Family?  If so, please leave me a comment here, on my twitter, or on Facebook.  I feel like I’ve been missing something for a while now, and I just realized what it is.  I’d love to hear from you.

Terry

IMG_0729.JPG

******************************
Update 10/14/2014 – here we are again at the cusp of a new episode! Updating this post because it’s relevant.

Leave a Reply

