Skip to content
November 5, 2014 / TeknoKai

My Awesome Author Sunday!

Hello, fellow netizens! This past Sunday I was lucky enough to get to see one of my favorite authors of all time, Anne Rice, and after her book signing, I was asked by a local newspaper reporter, “What does Anne Rice mean to you?”. Here is my answer in its fullest intent. Enjoy, and maybe you’ll know a little more about me afterwards.

“Anne Rice is the most fascinating writer, and my very favorite author, among a great many people. I love to read Jim Butcher, Kevin Hearne, Charlaine Harris, Kat Richardson, Carrie Vaughn, and Molly Harper, but Anne has always been, and always will be, my first beloved author. I grew up in a horrible childhood situation – I had abusive step parents and my real parents were too blind to see what was going on, until I was old enough to let them know what I was going to do (at around 13ish), and when I entered high school (Freshman Year, 1988-1989) I discovered the wonder of Louis, Claudia, and Lestat. My life has never been the same, since. After college, I went through a horrible marriage that lasted a year (1997-1998), then after a few more years of living and finding myself, about 3 years ago, I finally came to love who I am and stopped lying to myself. I came out publicly as a gay man, in spring of 2011. I lost all my friends, half of my family, and my job, because the place I worked in Starkville “Didn’t work with Queers”. Through all these times in my life, whenever everything was too bad or life was too hard to endure, I always had my lovely Lestat, David, Louis, and the rest of the Vampire Clan, the Mayfair Witches, the Taltos, Azriel, Ramses, or even the Violin to run to, and they would take me away to a safe place where I could heal my heart and my head and get my thoughts clear so I could come back and face the world. So I really just want to thank Ms. Rice, for the countless hours of joy she has brought me, and I am expecting that there will be countless more! Especially since we have Reuben’s pack in tow as well, now, and I am all grown up at the age of 40 (I’ll be 1 the 29th of this month!) and I am a strong, independent gay man who owns his own computer /server /cellphone repair business called the PC Physic1an!”

By the way, since I am listening to Prince Lestat from my library on @Audible_com, I asked her rising my phone in lieu of an actual book. She did!
IMG_0957.JPG

Leave a Reply

